Summer Staff Picks

We help you find the books you'll love!!

 

Want the perfect read for your summer trip? We have you covered.

 

We picked our favorite summer reads, the best books for lazy days and soaking up the sun. From hair-raising thrillers to heart rending romances, you'll find the best book for the season!

 

Magpie Murders: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062645234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - March 27th, 2018

PK's Pick


American War Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101973134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - January 30th, 2018

PK's Pick


Still Life: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel (Armand Gamache Mysteries) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780312541538
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Griffin - September 30th, 2008

Mary's Pick


Beneath a Scarlet Sky Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781503943377
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lake Union Publishing - May 1st, 2017

Mary's Pick


The Pilot's Wife (Oprah's Book Club) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316601955
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - March 30th, 1999

Pam's Pick

Kathryn Lyons is a school teacher in the New England mill town of her childhood and raising a fifteen year old daughter almost on her own since her husband is an international airline pilot. One late night there is an unexpected knock on her door and her fears come true.  Her husband’s plane exploded over the shores of the Irish Coast. As the investigation into the crash takes place, new information comes to light regarding her husband. Is Kathryn’s life really as simple and ordinary as she thought? Does she really know her husband? The Pilot’s Wife is a must read for fans of Liane Moriarty.


The Husband's Secret Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425267721
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - March 3rd, 2015

Pam's Pick

Have you ever wondered if you really know someone?

This book begins with the main character, Cecilia Fitzpatrick, discovering a letter her husband wrote titled “To be opened after my death.” What would you do?  Open and read this letter or confront your spouse and let him tell you his deep dark secret. What does his secret hold? Will it destroy their fairytale lives or those of other people?

Husband’s Secret is the perfect book for fans of Kristen Hannah, Elin Hilderbrand and JoJo Moyes and those who enjoy family drama.


Patrick Melrose: The Novels (Patrick Melrose Novels) Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250305664
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - May 8th, 2018

Jennifer's Pick


The Bookshop on the Corner: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062467256
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 20th, 2016

Sarah's Pick

What better book is there for summer than a lighthearted book set in Scotland that is all about books?

Whenever I am in search of a lighthearted read, I always turn to my favorite subgenre of fiction, books about books! I love the idea of reading about other booklovers and their adventures and Nina, the protagonist, is certainly a new favorite heroine, in the vein of classic literature. And bonus! There’s a bit of an homage to Pride & Prejudice in the plot and characters!

Perfect for lovers of a great story without tears.


Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425261019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley Books - March 5th, 2013

Sarah's Pick

Want a book that will make you laugh until you cry? Take a look at this fun memoir by “The Bloggess,” Jenny Lawson!

A collection of essays written in a blog-esque style, Jenny recounts tales of her very unconventional childhood, as well as her efforts to raise her daughter to be a free thinking and free spirited young woman.

A great book for women (and men!) of all generations*, backgrounds, and interests!

 

*some language may be deemed inappropriate for those under 13*


The Couple Next Door Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735221109
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 30th, 2017

Su's Pick


Rules of Civility Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143121169
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2012

Su's Pick


Sweet Lamb of Heaven Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393354188
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 2nd, 2017

Hadley's Pick


Norse Mythology Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393356182
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 6th, 2018

Hadley's Pick


The Song of Achilles: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062060624
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - August 28th, 2012

Sarah F's Pick

Hey y'all, I love this book.

I did not know how much I psychially needed a retelling of the Achilles myth until I started reading this book. It's everything that the Iliad was promised to be by my school teachers, but it actually delivers. Epic battles, sweeping love stories, meddling Gods, all written in and epic lyrical prose, that manages to be easily readable but still gosh darn beautiful.


The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781481442725
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - June 7th, 2016

Sarah F's Picks

So usually when I talk about this book I say something along the lines of 'oh my god it's such a good book, read it, you'll love it.' while dancing awkwardly in my excitement. I can't do that here so I'll just tell you what I love most about this novel.

Erin Bow writes beautifully and takes the grand, society changing plots that are in dystopian novels and pulls them down to the personal level. It's a book where the characters feel so real and the dystopia they live in feels fantastical but also only a step away from becoming reality.


The Last Mile (Amos Decker) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781455586462
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - September 13th, 2016

Staci's Pick


Order to Kill (Mitch Rapp Novels #13) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781476783499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pocket Books - July 18th, 2017

Staci's Pick


Stardust Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062564344
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - September 27th, 2016

Josh's Pick


The Maltese Falcon Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780679722649
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - July 17th, 1989

Josh's Pick


Six of Crows Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250076960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 6th, 2018

Sarah2 Pick

Sarah

Leigh Bardugo is a fantasy phenom. Since I first read her debut, Shadow & Bone a few years ago I’ve devoured all her work and Six of Crows is, by far, her best and most elaborately plotted book. I also love that her books all take place in the same world. So if you love snarky and witty characters with flaws and fears, Six of Crows, and all the rest of the Grisha books, are just for you!

 

Kaz (Sarah F)

Do you love magic underworlds but wish there was just a few more classic con jobs in your fantasy novels? Are you a sucker for found family stories and morally gray protagonists? If you said yes, you should definitely read this book.


Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451666175
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Touchstone Books - October 29th, 2013

Sarah2 Pick

Kaz (Sarah F)

Originally a web comic by Allie Brosh, Hyperbole and a half chronicles stories from her life, from her depression to her frankly insane childhood. It’s a must read for anyone that wants to see how depression really effects people, or if you just want some amazing stories like a dinosaur costume transforming children into agents of chaos.

 

Sarah

Want a book that will make you laugh so hard about depression that you wind up questioning your sanity? For some reason, Kaz & I do! This book is simultaneously heartwrenching and hilarious and it is the perfect book for your best friend, your significant other, anyone who could use a pick-me-up during a dark time, really, just anyone. So please read it.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Random House Reader's Circle) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385341004
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Press - May 5th, 2009

Staff Pick, loved by PK, Sarah, Pam and Mary