Staff Picks for July 18, 2020

  • SarahA Very Punchable Face by Colin Jost
  • PamIn Five Years by Rebecca Serle
  • MarielleDoodleville by Chad Sell
  • AnnaThe Poppy War by R. F. Kuang
  • ChristopherAction Park by Andy Mulvihill
  • JenniferOnce Upon a Time I Lived on Mars by Kate Greene
  • EliseSomewhere Only We Know by Maureen Goo
  • DrewThe Rage of Dragons by Evan Winter
Staff Pick Badge
A Very Punchable Face: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781101906323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - July 14th, 2020

I actually laughed out loud twice in the prologue. I don't remember the last time I actually laughed out loud while reading, and the laughs kept coming the further I got into the book. As an AVID SNL fan (it's been my way of dealing with grief in the past few years) and political/news junkie, I've read every book by an SNL alum that I can get my hands on with Bossypants, up until now, being my favorite. And Tina's from Philly, I didn't think she'd be succeeded by, well, her successor at SNL. Huh. Probably should have seen it coming really. Anyway, Colin's hysterical both on screen and in book form. His ability to mock himself is unparalleled and I eagerly anticipate every episode of SNL and try to pick out which sketches he wrote. I look forward to putting his memoir into not only the hands of Tina & Amy fans, but Nick Offerman and Eric Idle fans as well. What a great display all those titles would make together...  - SARAH


Staff Pick Badge
In Five Years: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982137441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - March 10th, 2020

I really enjoyed this novel and it made me laugh and cry. Our story is about two women, Dannie and her best friend Bella who grew up together in two very different households. Dannie is a highly motivated corporate lawayer with a life plan and knows she will marry her longtime boyfriend David. Whereas Bella, is not a planner, and moves through life to the beat of her own drum and jumps from one relationship to the next until she meets Aaron Gregory. However, fate has different plans for both Bella and Dannie. Ultimately, the story is about love and frienship between two women. - PAM


Staff Pick Badge
Doodleville Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

DOODLEVILLE is a heartwarming story featuring a notebook full of magic doodles that literally jump off the page the young girl who draws them and loves them even when they cause all sorts of hijinks, who is just trying to be herself. Through fun artwork and hilarious storytelling, Drew's world comes to life and draws you right into her doodle-filled world. For fans of CHALKZONE or anyone who has always wanted to see art come to life, this is the book for you! - MARIELLE


Staff Pick Badge
The Poppy War: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062662583
Availability: Backordered - Usually Ships in 14-90 days
Published: Harper Voyager - April 23rd, 2019

Reader disrection is advised for this story. The Poppy War is one of the first adult fantasy books that I have ever read. It is a gritty fantasy set during a war, where almost everyone is morally grey. This first book starts at an academy where our main character, Rin, is studying to become a military official for her country. She is one of three girls in her year at the school and she has to overcome a lot of obstacles in order to earn her place for the rest of her time there. I like this book because it is a super easy adult fantasy to get into, and is currently helping me overcome a huge reading slump. The actions scenes are very well-written, the characters are so intriguing, and the world is already incredibly well-developed.  - ANNA


Staff Pick Badge
Action Park: Fast Times, Wild Rides, and the Untold Story of America's Most Dangerous Amusement Park Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143134510
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 30th, 2020

This book is CRAZY. This is the absolutely stranger-than-fiction story about how a New Jersey father with boundless dreams founded the Disneyworld of the Tri-state area… except the park had rides made of asbestos tubes that launched people into nearby trees. Mulvihill’s witty humor and baffling first-hand experience with his father’s disregard for sanity makes this book my favorite piece of nonfiction I’ve read in a very long time. I cannot recommend this one enough. - CHRISTOPHER


Staff Pick Badge
Once Upon a Time I Lived on Mars: Space, Exploration, and Life on Earth Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250159472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 14th, 2020

This book is for space nerds like me and anyone who's been in isolation for the past few months (so everyone :). In 2013 Green spent four months in a geodesic dome on a Hawaiian island, pretending that she and her five crewmates were on Mars as part of NASA's HI-SEAS project. Green supplements her tale of a simulated Mars experience with historical notes of NASA's missions and of many famous astronauts' observances. - JENNIFER


Staff Pick Badge
Somewhere Only We Know Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250250780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - May 5th, 2020

This book is perfect for fans of “Roman Holiday “and “The Sun is Also a Star.” Set in Hong Kong over the course of 3 days, famous K -Pop star Lucky decides to sneak out one night when she meets Jack, a boy who happens to be work for a paparazzi tabloid. Told in dual point of view, you’ll love getting to know these characters and the lessons they learn along the way. While I’m normally not a big fan of “overnight romances,” this book took me by surprise! The story never felt forced, but instead charming and funny, and I felt as if I was exploring the city myself! If you’re in the mood for a comfort book filled with laughs and sweet moments, pick this up! - ELISE


Staff Pick Badge
The Rage of Dragons (The Burning #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316489775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - March 10th, 2020

Oh The Rage of Dragons, I honestly think this book is an opportunity for everyone to get in on the ground floor of something big. I mean it. You guys could be one of the cool people who gets to talk about how you read it before the show.
But what is this books about you ask?
Well let me answer your question with a question of my own. Do you want to read about Dragons, warriors that can turn themselves into giants and a man who’s driven to vengeance after everything is taken from him? Then you may like this book.
In a world that borrows heavily from African (specifically Xhosa)  myth the story focuses on Tau’s quest for vengeance ( a vengeance that is well earned) against the Omehi, his own people. This book discusses colonization from both the colonizers point of view and the native’s and manages to have multiple characters straddle the line between these view points.
If you like Enders Game, Gladiator and Spartacus AND you though they could all use Dragons then this book is for you. - DREW