Self-Isolation Reading List #9

Elise's Pick

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Mary's Pick

  • What Makes a Marriage Last by Marlo Thomas & Phil Donahue

Marielle's Picks

  • The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall
  • The Next Great Jane by K. L. Going

Sarah's Picks

  • The Peppermint Tea Chronicles by Alexander McCall Smith
  • The Jane Austen Society by Natalie Jenner

Pam's Picks

  • Big Summer by Jennifer Weiner
  • Rodham by Curtis Sittenfeld
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Christopher's Picks

  • The Dinosaur Artist by Paige Williams
  • Dragon Teeth by Michael Crichton

Hadley's Picks

  • This Is What a Librarian Looks Like edited by Kyle Cassidy
  • The Lottery and Other Stories by Shirley Jackson
What Makes a Marriage Last: 40 Celebrated Couples Share with Us the Secrets to a Happy Life Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780062982582
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperOne - May 5th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

Power couple Marlo Thomas and Phil Donahue have created a compelling and intimate collection of intriguing conversations with famous couples about their enduring marriages and how they have made them last through the challenges we all share.


A Court of Thorns and Roses Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781619635180
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 3rd, 2016

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Staff Pick Badge
Little Fires Everywhere: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735224315
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 7th, 2019

The #1 New York Times bestseller!

Now a Hulu original series starring Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington.

“I read Little Fires Everywhere in a single, breathless sitting.” —Jodi Picoult


Rodham: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - May 19th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of American Wife and Eligible . . . He proposed. She said no. And it changed her life forever.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Big Summer: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501133510
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - May 5th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Sexy and satisfying, Big Summer is the perfect quarantine read.” —USA TODAY

“The beach read to end all beach reads.” —Entertainment Weekly

“Big fun, and then some.


The Next Great Jane Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780803734753
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - May 19th, 2020

From award-winning author K. L. Going comes a happily-ever-after story of a girl who discovers the true secret to all good writing--through an unlikely friendship, some well-intentioned matchmaking, and little bit of science.


The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536204315
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - May 5th, 2020

In a world divided by colonialism and threaded with magic, a desperate orphan turned pirate and a rebellious imperial lady find a connection on the high seas.


This Is What a Librarian Looks Like: A Celebration of Libraries, Communities, and Access to Information Cover Image
By Kyle Cassidy, Ronald Rice (Editor), Richard Russo (Foreword by), Emily St. John Mandel (Afterword by)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780316393980
Availability: Special Order - Not Available for Web Order
Published: Black Dog & Leventhal - May 16th, 2017

In 2014, author and photographer Kyle Cassidy published a photo essay on Slate.com called "This is What A Librarian Looks Like," a montage of portraits and a tribute to librarians. Since then, Cassidy has made it his mission to remind us of how essential librarians and libraries are to our communities.


The Lottery and Other Stories (FSG Classics) Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, A. M. Homes (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374529536
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - March 16th, 2005

One of the most terrifying stories of the twentieth century, Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery” created a sensation when it was first published in The New Yorker in 1948. "Power and haunting," and "nights of unrest" were typical reader responses.


The Dinosaur Artist: Obsession, Science, and the Global Quest for Fossils Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316382519
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - September 10th, 2019

In this 2018 New York Times Notable Book, Paige Williams "does for fossils what Susan Orlean did for orchids" (Book Riot) in her account of one Florida man's attempt to sell a dinosaur skeleton from Mongolia--a story "steeped in natural history, human nature, commerce, crime, science, and politics" (Rebecca Skloot).


Dragon Teeth: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062473387
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Paperbacks - May 22nd, 2018

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel—a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting.


The Peppermint Tea Chronicles: 44 Scotland Street Series (13) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781984897817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - December 3rd, 2019

The latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's popular 44 Scotland Street series is a sheer delight.
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Jane Austen Society: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250248732
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 26th, 2020

* NATIONAL BESTSELLER *

"This novel delivers sweet, smart escapism."
People