Rainbow Reads Book Club

The Rainbow Reads Book Club is another 2019 addition to our book club offerings and is led by Towne customer Emma. All the selections for the Rainbow Reads Book Club feature protagonists who are members of the LGBTQ+ community. For the time being as the group continues to grow, each month’s selection is picked by Emma and she’s done a FABULOUS job thus far!

Rainbow Reads Book Club meets on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 7pm.

Upcoming Meetings and Selections
Wednesday, September 8, 2021: The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
Wednesday, October 13, 2021: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Wednesday, November 10, 2021: The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune
Wednesday, January 12, 2022: Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur

Previous Selections
August 2021: David Bowie Made Me Gay by Darryl W Bullock
July 2021: Honey Girl by Morgan Rogers
May 2021: The Devourers by Indra Das
April 2021: Dreadnought by April Daniels
March 2021: A Blade So Black by L. L. McKiney
February 2021: A Lady's Guide to Celestial Mechanics by Olivia Waite
January 2021: Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir
November 2020: Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
October 2020: These Witches Don't Burn by Isabel Sterling
September 2020: Running with Lions by Julian Winters

Written in the Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063000803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - November 10th, 2020

"I was hooked from the very first page!” – Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of In a Holidaze

"This book is a delight." – New York Times Book Review


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, and WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER!
A 2021 Alex Award winner!
The 2021 RUSA Reading List: Fantasy Winner!
An Indie Next Pick!
One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"
One of Book Riot’s “20 Must-Read Feel-Good Fantasies”


Carry On (Simon Snow Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250135025
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - May 9th, 2017

#1 New York Times best seller!
Booklist Editors’ Choice 2015 - Youth!

Named a "Best Book of 2015" by Time Magazine, School Library Journal, Barnes & Noble, NPR, PopSugar, The Millions, and The News & Observer!


Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who's ever been chosen.


The Traitor Baru Cormorant (The Masquerade #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765380739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - November 29th, 2016

The Traitor Baru Cormorant is the critically-acclaimed debut novel from Seth Dickinson, one of the rising new stars in fantasy.

Tomorrow, on the beach, Baru Cormorant will look up and see red sails on the horizon.


David Bowie Made Me Gay: 100 Years of LGBT Music Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781468316919
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 30th, 2019

Honey Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780778311027
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Park Row - February 23rd, 2021

Named Most Anticipated of 2021 by Oprah Magazine * Marie Claire * Ms. Magazine * E * Parade Magazine * Buzzfeed * Cosmo * The Rumpus * GoodReads * Autostraddle * Brit & Co * Refinery29 * Betches * BookRiot and others

A LibraryReads Pick

"HONEY GIRL is an emotional, heartfelt, charming debut, and I loved every moment of it."


The Devourers: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101967539
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - February 21st, 2017

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST


Dreadnought (Nemesis #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781682300688
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Diversion Books - January 24th, 2017

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

"I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now."--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky


A Blade So Black (The Nightmare-Verse #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250211668
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - September 24th, 2019

"A Blade So Black is the fantasy book I've been waiting for my whole life."
—Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Hate U Give

For fans of Marissa Meyer, L.L. McKinney's A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland... but it's not the Wonderland you remember.


The Lady's Guide to Celestial Mechanics: Feminine Pursuits Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062931795
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon Impulse - July 23rd, 2019

As Lucy Muchelney watches her ex-lover’s sham of a wedding, she wishes herself anywhere else. It isn’t until she finds a letter from the Countess of Moth, looking for someone to translate a groundbreaking French astronomy text, that she knows where to go. Showing up at the Countess’ London home, she hoped to find a challenge, not a woman who takes her breath away.


Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Series #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250313188
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - July 14th, 2020

15+ pages of new, original content, including a glossary of terms, in-universe writings, and more!

A USA Today Best-Selling Novel, and one of the Best Books of 2019 according to NPR, the New York Public Library, Amazon, BookPage, Shelf Awareness, BookRiot, and Bustle!

WINNER of the 2020 Crawford Award


Afterworlds Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481422352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 29th, 2015

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld comes a “masterful” (Cory Doctorow) novel-within-a-novel that you won’t be able to put down.

Darcy Patel has put college on hold to publish her teen novel, Afterworlds. With a contract in hand, she arrives in New York City with no apartment, no friends, and all the wrong clothes.


These Witches Don't Burn Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451480347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - April 28th, 2020

"Infused with page-turning suspense, bittersweet romance, shocking twists, and tragic turns, Sterling has written a standout debut." --Dana Mele, author of People Like Us


Running with Lions Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781945053627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Interlude Press - June 1st, 2018