Rainbow Reads Book Club

The Rainbow Reads Book Club is another 2019 addition to our book club offerings and is led by Towne customer Emma. All the selections for the Rainbow Reads Book Club feature protagonists who are members of the LGBTQ+ community. For the time being as the group continues to grow, each month’s selection is picked by Emma and she’s done a FABULOUS job thus far!

Rainbow Reads Book Club meets on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 7pm.

Upcoming Meetings and Selections
Wednesday, April 14, 2021: Dreadnought by April Daniels
Wednesday, May 12, 2021: The Devourers by Indra Das

Previous Selections
March 2021: A Blade So Black by L. L. McKiney
February 2021: A Lady's Guide to Celestial Mechanics by Olivia Waite
January 2021: Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir
November 2020: Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
October 2020: These Witches Don't Burn by Isabel Sterling
September 2020: Running with Lions by Julian Winters
August 2020: The Weight of the Stars by K Ancrum
July 2020: I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
June 2020: Bloom by Kevin Panetta
May 2020: Timekeeper by Tara Sim
April 2020: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
March 2020: Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee
February 2020: Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon
January 2020: Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

The Devourers: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101967539
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - February 21st, 2017

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST


Dreadnought (Nemesis #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781682300688
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Diversion Books - January 24th, 2017

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

"I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now."--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky


A Blade So Black (The Nightmare-Verse #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250211668
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - September 24th, 2019

"A Blade So Black is the fantasy book I've been waiting for my whole life."
Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Hate U Give

For fans of Marissa Meyer, L.L. McKinney's A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland... but it's not the Wonderland you remember.


The Lady's Guide to Celestial Mechanics: Feminine Pursuits Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062931795
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon Impulse - July 23rd, 2019

As Lucy Muchelney watches her ex-lover’s sham of a wedding, she wishes herself anywhere else. It isn’t until she finds a letter from the Countess of Moth, looking for someone to translate a groundbreaking French astronomy text, that she knows where to go. Showing up at the Countess’ London home, she hoped to find a challenge, not a woman who takes her breath away.


Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250313188
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - July 14th, 2020

15+ pages of new, original content, including a glossary of terms, in-universe writings, and more!

A USA Today Best-Selling Novel, and one of the Best Books of 2019 according to NPR, the New York Public Library, Amazon, BookPage, Shelf Awareness, BookRiot, and Bustle!

WINNER of the 2020 Crawford Award


Afterworlds Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481422352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 29th, 2015

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld comes a “masterful” (Cory Doctorow) novel-within-a-novel that you won’t be able to put down.

Darcy Patel has put college on hold to publish her teen novel, Afterworlds. With a contract in hand, she arrives in New York City with no apartment, no friends, and all the wrong clothes.


These Witches Don't Burn Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451480347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - April 28th, 2020

"Infused with page-turning suspense, bittersweet romance, shocking twists, and tragic turns, Sterling has written a standout debut." --Dana Mele, author of People Like Us


Running with Lions Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781945053627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Interlude Press - June 1st, 2018

Staff Pick Badge
The Weight of the Stars Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250101655
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - March 17th, 2020

A vivid, evocative YA lesbian romance about how the universe is full of second chances

Ryann Bird dreams of traveling across the stars. But a career in space isn’t an option for a girl who lives in a trailer park on the “wrong” side of town. So Ryann becomes her circumstances and settles for acting out and skipping school to hang out with her delinquent friends.


I'll Give You the Sun Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142425763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - October 27th, 2015

The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jojo Moyes, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell

“We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.”


Staff Pick Badge
Bloom Cover Image
By Kevin Panetta, Savanna Ganucheau (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626726413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - January 29th, 2019

Wednesday, June 10th at 7pm


Staff Pick Badge
Timekeeper Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781510726604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sky Pony - October 31st, 2017

Wednesday, May 13th at 7pm


Of Fire and Stars Cover Image
By Audrey Coulthurst, Jordan Saia (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062433268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 6th, 2018

Wednesday, April 8th at 7pm


Tash Hearts Tolstoy Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481489348
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 26th, 2018

From the author of Lucky Few comes a “refreshing” (Booklist, starred review) teen novel about Internet fame, peer pressure, and remembering not to step on the little people on your way to the top!

After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka suddenly finds herself and her obscure, amateur web serie


An Unkindness of Ghosts Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781617755880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Akashic Books - October 3rd, 2017

A Best Book of 2017: NPR, The Guardian, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Bustle, Bookish, Barnes & Noble, Chicago Public Library, Book Scrolling.

CLMP Firecracker Award Winner

A Stonewall Book Award Honor Book

Finalist for the 2018 Locus Award, John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and the Lambda Literary Award.


Staff Pick Badge
Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250316776
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 14th, 2019

* Instant NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestseller *
* GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD WINNER for BEST DEBUT and BEST ROMANCE of 2019 *

* BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR* for VOGUE, NPR, VANITY FAIR, and more! *

What happens when America's First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales?