Jennifer's Picks

Jennifer's Picks

Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind Picture Book Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781974705610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: VIZ Media LLC - April 30th, 2019

An epic fantasy written and illustrated by the legendary director Hayao Miyazaki!

Studio Ghibli picture books capture the magic of the legendary studio’s animated films with easy-to-read text, full-color pictures direct from the film, and a family-friendly oversized hardcover format.

In a long-ago war, humankind set off a devastating ecological disaster.


Toil & Trouble: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250019950
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 1st, 2019

From the number one New York Times bestselling author comes another stunning memoir that is tender, touching...and just a little spooky.


The Okay Witch Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534431454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - September 3rd, 2019

Sabrina the Teenage Witch meets Roller Girl in this hilarious, one-of-a-kind graphic novel about a half-witch who has just discovered the truth about herself, her family, and her town and is doing her best to survive middle school now that she knows everything!

Magic is harder than it looks.

Thirteen-year-old Moth Hush loves all things witchy.


Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250313195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - September 10th, 2019

A USA Today Best-Selling Novel!

“Unlike anything I’ve ever read. ” —V.E. Schwab

“Lesbian necromancers explore a haunted gothic palace in space!” —Charles Stross

“Deft, tense and atmospheric, compellingly immersive and wildly original.” —The New York Times


Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525510543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - August 6th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “From The New Yorker’s beloved cultural critic comes a bold, unflinching collection of essays about self-deception, examining everything from scammer culture to reality television.”—Esquire
 


The Last Last-Day-of-Summer Cover Image
By Lamar Giles, Dapo Adeola (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328460837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - April 2nd, 2019

"The Last Last-Day-of-Summer reminds me that all children deserve to exist in magical spaces where their imaginations and familial bonds will them into heroism. Every single child should have the freedom to be one of The Legendary Alstons.


Honestly, We Meant Well: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250143150
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - June 11th, 2019

“This rollicking book has it all: sex, lies, and scenery. Grant Ginder weaves a wonderful, engrossing multi-generational family story, with the Greek isles as a backdrop so beautiful that the reader will want to dive in.”
— Emma Straub, New York Times bestselling author of The Vacationers and Modern Lovers


Wanderers: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780399182105
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 2nd, 2019

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. From the mind of Chuck Wendig comes “a magnum opus . . . a story about survival that’s not just about you and me, but all of us, together” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).


Truly Madly Guilty Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250069801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - July 25th, 2017

Nine Perfect Strangers on sale now

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, FROM THE AUTHOR OF BIG LITTLE LIES, now an HBO series.

Winner of Goodreads Choice Award for Best Fiction
Entertainment Weekly's Best Beach Bet
A USA Today Hot Books for Summer Selection


Stonewall: A Building. An Uprising. A Revolution Cover Image
By Rob Sanders, Jamey Christoph (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524719524
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 23rd, 2019

Celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising with the very first picture book to tell of its historic and inspiring role in the gay civil rights movement.


I Wish You All the Best Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338306125
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Push - May 14th, 2019

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.


The Handmaid's Tale: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780385490818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - March 16th, 1998

#1 New York Times bestseller 

Look for The Testaments, the sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, available now.

 


Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626722590
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - May 7th, 2019

Author Mariko Tamaki and illustrator Rosemary Valero-O’Connell bring to life a sweet and spirited tale of young love in Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, a graphic novel that asks us to consider what happens when we ditch the toxic relationships we crave to embrace the healthy ones we need.


Dig Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101994917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

A surreal and searing dive into the tangled secrets of a wealthy white family in suburban Pennsylvania and the terrible cost the family's children pay to maintain the family name.

★“A.S. King’s novels…are in another solar system entirely.”—Bookpage, starred review


Rumple Buttercup: A Story of Bananas, Belonging, and Being Yourself Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780525648444
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 2nd, 2019

The #1 New York Times bestseller written and illustrated by Criminal Minds actor/director, Matthew Gray Gubler. This charming and inspiring story is the perfect gift for kids (and grown-up kids) alike!

Rumple Buttercup has five crooked teeth, three strands of hair, green skin, and his left foot is slightly bigger than his right.

He is weird.


SHOUT Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780670012107
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 12th, 2019

A New York Times bestseller and one of 2019's best-reviewed books, a poetic memoir and call to action from the award-winning author of Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson!


The Very Impatient Caterpillar Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338289411
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 26th, 2019

This clever send-up of every child's biggest challenge -- being patient! -- is a STEM-friendly, laugh-out-loud comedy about metamorphosis.

* "Super-charged." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Will delight fans of Mo Willems's "Pigeon" series... absolutely charming." --School Library Journal


The City in the Middle of the Night Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765379962
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - February 12th, 2019

*The Verge's Science Fiction and Fantasy Book We're Looking Forward to in 2019
*AV Club's 15 Most Anticipated Books of 2019
*Book Riot's Most Anticipated Books of 2019
*Kirkus' 30 Speculative Fiction Books You Should Read in February 2019
*Bookish's Winter's Must-Read Sci-fi & Fantasy


The Lost Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062275097
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - February 12th, 2019

Three starred reviews

A Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book of 2019

Anne Ursu, author of the National Book Award nominee The Real Boy, returns with a story of the power of fantasy, the limits of love, and the struggles inherent in growing up.


The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316310352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

The enchanting and bloodthirsty sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Cruel Prince.


You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring.

The first lesson is to make yourself strong.


The Idiot: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 13th, 2018

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction

"An addictive, sprawling epic; I wolfed it down.”
—Miranda July, author of The First Bad Man and It Chooses You