Elise's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780147513854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 5th, 2016

Khalid, a teenage king, marries a different bride each night only to have them killed the next morning. When Shahrzad’s best friend dies as a result, she chooses to become the next bride to seek revenge. Determined to stay alive, Shahrzad finds out that there is more to Khalid than she thought. From poetic writing to a strong female heroine and an “enemies to lovers” romance, this book will captivate you in every way!


Staff Pick Badge
One of Us Is Lying Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524714680
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - May 30th, 2017

One of Us is Lying is must-read for fans of The Breakfast Club and Pretty Little Liars. Told from multiple perspectives, this story follows five unique students in a classroom together for detention. When detention is over, one of the students is dead. This highly addicting and mystery book will have you on the edge of your seat and flying through the pages as you try to guess who committed the crime.


Staff Pick Badge
Book Love Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781449494285
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - January 1st, 2019

This is the PERFECT book for anyone who loves to read. “Book Love” will have you laughing and smiling with every page. I related to every little quirky and unique activity illustrated in this graphic novel, from smelling books to reading in bed while sipping tea on the weekend. If you’re in need of a heart-warming and comforting story, this is the novel for you! Plus, who doesn’t love to read books about books?


Staff Pick Badge
Fangirl: A Novel Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250042613
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - November 6th, 2018

With school starting back up, Fangirl is the perfect read for this time of year. This story follows Cath, a freshman at college, who is venturing out of her comfort zone by living away from home and her twin sister. Cath is also a huge fan of the “Simon Snow” book series and has written popular fanfiction about the two main characters. If you have ever written or read fanfiction, or have even been a part of a fandom, I think you would love this book! There is a character for everyone to connect with, from Cath’s quirky introverted self to her roommate’s blunt and outgoing personality. I enjoyed Fangirl because it’s much more centered around the characters than the plot, and I appreciated how it highlighted some of the aspects of college everything feels but no one talks about. If you are a college student looking for a relatable and feel good story, this is the book for you!


Staff Pick Badge
It Ends with Us: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501110368
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - August 2nd, 2016

Colleen Hoover’s books make you feel every type of emotion from giddiness to gut-wrenching pain. This book in particular was one of the most moving and powerful stories I have ever read. It Ends With Us is a book that follows a college graduate named Lily who moves to Boston and forms a connection with a neurosurgeon named Ryle. Things are perfect until Atlas shows up, her first love and a boy from her past, making her question everything she thinks she knows. However, this book is so much more than a “love triangle.” It is a raw, heartbreaking story of vulnerability and hard truth. You will feel like you are right alongside Lily, heart pounding and head spinning as you experience the highs and lows of her life. I gave this book to my sister who isn’t normally a reader, but she flew through this! In just 384 pages, this book will change you, and the story’s impactful message is one I hope everyone will read.


Staff Pick Badge
Somewhere Only We Know Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250250780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - May 5th, 2020

This book is perfect for fans of “Roman Holiday “and “The Sun is Also a Star.” Set in Hong Kong over the course of 3 days, famous K -Pop star Lucky decides to sneak out one night when she meets Jack, a boy who happens to be work for a paparazzi tabloid. Told in dual point of view, you’ll love getting to know these characters and the lessons they learn along the way. While I’m normally not a big fan of “overnight romances,” this book took me by surprise! The story never felt forced, but instead charming and funny, and I felt as if I was exploring the city myself! If you’re in the mood for a comfort book filled with laughs and sweet moments, pick this up!


Staff Pick Badge
We Were Liars Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780385741279
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - May 29th, 2018

I think it is best if you go into "We Were Liars" without knowing much, but I highly recommend this thrilling and mysterious novel that you won’t want to put down! The story takes place on a private island off the coast of Massachusetts where four families live every summer. Although this is a short book, the depth and meaning behind E. Lockhart’s words will have you thinking about this story long after you read the last page.