Select (Paperback)

Select By Christie Matheson Cover Image
$8.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jul 17 2:45pm
(CHILDREN'S BKS/AGES 9-12)

Description


One girl and her soccer team take a stand against the bullies who push them too far in this brave, inspiring novel that celebrates girl power and the true spirit of sports. Perfect for readers who love The Crossover and Fighting Words.

"A tale of terrific girl power and athleticism." —Kirkus Reviews

Twelve-year-old Alex loves playing soccer, and she’s good at it, too. Very good. When her skills land her a free ride to play for Select, an elite soccer club, it feels like a huge opportunity. Joining Select could be the key to a college scholarship and a bright future—one that Alex’s family can’t promise her.

But as the team gets better and better, her new coach pushes the players harder and harder, until soccer starts to feel more like punishment than fun. And then there comes a point where enough is enough, and Alex and her teammates must take a stand to find a better way to make their soccer dreams come true.

Powerful and inspiring, Select explores the important difference between positive and negative coaching and celebrates the true spirit of sports.

About the Author


Christie Matheson is the author of Shelter and is also the author-illustrator of many picture books, including Tap the Magic Tree, Touch the Brightest Star, and Bird Watch. She lives in San Francisco with her family.

Praise For…


"A tale of terrific girl power and athleticism." —Kirkus Reviews

“[A] quickly paced, empowering contemporary novel about girls’ soccer and self-advocacy.” —Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593567265
ISBN-10: 0593567269
Publisher: Yearling
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 240
Language: English