Sometime After Midnight (Hardcover)

Sometime After Midnight Cover Image
$18.99
Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days

Description


"Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist meets Cinderella in this thoroughly modern romance." —HelloGiggles

Late one night in a dingy Los Angeles club, Nate and Cameron meet and discover they have much more in common than their love of an obscure indie band. But when Nate learns that Cameron is the heir to a soul-sucking record label—the very one that destroyed his father’s life—he runs away as fast as he can. The only evidence of their brief but intense connection is the blurry photo Cameron snaps of Nate’s Sharpied Chuck Taylors.

When Cameron’s sister Tess—a famous model and socialite—posts the photo on Instagram for her legions of fans, the internet just about breaks with the news of this modern fairy tale. “Anyone know the owner of these shoes?” she writes. “My Prince Charming brother is looking for his Cinderfella!” But while the viral sensation begins to bring the pair back together, their own demons and pasts might get in the way of any happily ever afters . . .

About the Author


L. Philips went to Ohio University for a degree in music education, decided that job was entirely too noisy, and became a librarian instead. When she’s not working, she enjoys belting out show tunes when she thinks no one is listening and watching the same episodes of Thomas the Tank Engine over and over (or at least that’s what she tells her toddler son). She lives in Ohio and is the author of Perfect Ten.

Praise For…


"Philips beautifully captures the sweeping sensation of first love . . . while also delivering an enchanting, sweet, modern fairy-tale that offers up an LGBTQ happily-ever-after (something we still see far too little of in pop culture).” —Entertainment Weekly

"A rare sort of romance that is cheesy in the best of ways." —Publishers Weekly

"Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist meets Cinderella in this thoroughly modern romance." —HelloGiggles

"Philips has created a realistic, not-overly-mushy, well-written romance . . . Refreshing." —School Library Journal

"Philips’ tale of these two talented teens is not without its soap-opera elements . . . but romance fans will forgive all this and simply enjoy the story." —Booklist


Praise for Perfect Ten by L. Philips

 
Seventeen Best Book of 2017

“A sweet summer read about a boy looking for love and the lengths he will go to find it.” —Teen Vogue
 
“The most fantastic, hopeful, aspirational story of gay teens in a red state since David Levithan’s Boy Meets Boy.” —Aaron Hartzler, author of Lambda Literary Award finalist Rapture Practice

"Philips’ tale will resonate with readers who are looking for love and a light, breezy summer read." —Entertainment Weekly
 
“A solid YA read that makes you shamelessly squee.” —HelloGiggles

“Sweet and satisfying . . . Like one of the ultimately lucky three, this is a keeper.” —Booklist

“You can count on Perfect Ten to make you laugh, think, and, ultimately grow—what more can we ask from a coming-of-age love story? An absolute delight to read.” —John Corey Whaley, Printz Award–winning author of Where Things Come Back


“A fun, swoony, and romantic novel that honestly expresses the trials and tribulations of finding the right one.” —BuzzFeed
 
Perfect Ten is: 1. Adorable 2. Heartbreaking 3. Funny 4. Delightful 5. Unexpected 6. Queer 7. Moving 8. Honest 9. Unapologetic 10. A must-read.” —Michael Barakiva, author of One Man Guy

“This surprisingly tender rom-com explores relationships with an authenticity that’s full of heart and poetic splendor . . . Fans of Stephanie Perkins or David Levithan will discover much to love about this sweet confection of a tale.” —School Library Journal
 
Perfect Ten is as charming as it is relevant. A stunning, twenty-first-century teen romance that will have readers begging for more. In a word, it’s Magick.” —J. H. Trumble, author of Lambda Literary Award finalist Don't Let Me Go
 
Cute and catchy . . . An engaging read.” —Romantic Times
 
Perfect Ten is a perfect ten. Romantic, sweet, and far wiser than expected. A breezy romcom that is as smart as it is fun, with characters that leap off the page.” —Bill Konigsberg, award-winning author of Honestly Ben and Openly Straight
 
Fresh and honest.”—VOYA

Perfect Ten is a smart, messy, complicated romance, full of swoony kisses and lie-on-the-floor heartbreak and unexpected twists of fate—just like love itself." —Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author of How to Love and 99 Days


Product Details
ISBN: 9780425291634
ISBN-10: 0425291634
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 7th, 2018
Pages: 400
Language: English