Tidesong (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Tidesong By Wendy Xu, Wendy Xu (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Wendy Xu, Wendy Xu (Illustrator)
$13.99
Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


TIDESONG is a fantastical, light-hearted & magical adventure following Sophie, who has hopes of attending a prestigious magic school & making her family proud. But things take a turn when she accidentally links together her new magic with that of a powerful dragon prince! For fans of Studio Ghibli, this beautifully illustrated and written graphic novel touches on familial pressure, questions of self-worth, and more. Give it a try and experience the magic firsthand!

— Rachele

November/December 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“I hope this is the beginning of a series, because between the incredibly imaginative artwork, the beautiful story-scape, and the beautifully resonant messages on anxiety, friendship, family, and communication, I am hooked! Wendy Xu has created a complete masterpiece and I want more!”
— Amy Van Keuren, Charter Books, Newport, RI

Description


Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and The Tea Dragon Society, this is a magically heartwarming graphic novel about self-acceptance and friendship.

Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother pressure her to attend the Royal Magic Academy—the best magic school in the realm—even though her magic is shaky at best. To train for her entrance exams, Sophie is sent to relatives she’s never met.

Cousin Sage and Great-Aunt Lan seem more interested in giving Sophie chores than in teaching her magic. Frustrated, Sophie attempts magic on her own, but the spell goes wrong, and she accidentally entangles her magic with the magic of a young water dragon named Lir.

Lir is trapped on land and can’t remember where he came from. Even so, he’s everything Sophie isn’t—beloved by Sophie’s family and skilled at magic. With his help, Sophie might just ace her entrance exams, but that means standing in the way of Lir’s attempts to regain his memories. Sophie knows what she’s doing is wrong, but without Lir’s help, can she prove herself?

* Featured on the Today Show * An SLJ Best Book of the Year * A Nerdist Best Comic of the Year * A Book Riot Best Book of the Year * A Mighty Girl's Best Book of the Year * An ALA Best Graphic Novel for Children *

About the Author


Wendy Xu is a Brooklyn-based illustrator and comics artist with several upcoming graphic novels from HarperCollins. She is the cocreator of Mooncakes, a young adult fantasy graphic novel published in 2019 from Lion Forge Comics/Oni Press, which has been nominated for Hugo, Ignatz, and GoodReads Choice Awards. Her work has been featured on Catapult, B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog, and Tor.com, among other places. Visit her online at artofwendyxu.com.



Wendy Xu is a Brooklyn-based illustrator and comics artist with several upcoming graphic novels from HarperCollins. She is the cocreator of Mooncakes, a young adult fantasy graphic novel published in 2019 from Lion Forge Comics/Oni Press, which has been nominated for Hugo, Ignatz, and GoodReads Choice Awards. Her work has been featured on Catapult, B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog, and Tor.com, among other places. Visit her online at artofwendyxu.com.

Praise For…


“Sophie’s struggles and growth will resonate with younger readers, especially those who love the “Tea Dragon Society” and the films of Hayao Miyazaki. Relatable and ­heartwarming.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Reminiscent of Kiki’s Delivery Service, the colorful panels are filled with movement, and the manga-style art pops. A fun, fantastical romp.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Xu gives her solo debut fresh allure with richly evoked Chinese mythology–inspired dragons and a supporting cast of idiosyncratic, endearing characters.” — Publishers Weekly

“A perfect fit for fans of Studio Ghibli movies.” — Booklist

“Resplendent hues, big-eyed magical creatures, and vivid setting details enhance this lush graphic novel, and Xu blends elements from Chinese mythology seamlessly with a magical, witchy world.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062955791
ISBN-10: 0062955799
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: November 16th, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English