Freefall: A Novel (Hardcover)

Freefall: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A propulsive debut novel with the intensity of Luckiest Girl Alive and Before the Fall, about a young woman determined to survive and a mother determined to find her.

When your life is a lie, the truth can kill you

When her fiancé’s private plane crashes in the Colorado Rockies, Allison Carpenter miraculously survives. But the fight for her life is just beginning. Allison has been living with a terrible secret, a shocking truth that powerful men will kill to keep buried. If they know she’s alive, they will come for her. She must make it home.

In the small community of Owl Creek, Maine, Maggie Carpenter learns that her only child is presumed dead. But authorities have not recovered her body—giving Maggie a shred of hope. She, too, harbors a shameful secret: she hasn’t communicated with her daughter in two years, since a family tragedy drove Allison away. Maggie doesn’t know anything about her daughter’s life now—not even that she was engaged to wealthy pharmaceutical CEO Ben Gardner, or why she was on a private plane.

As Allison struggles across the treacherous mountain wilderness, Maggie embarks on a desperate search for answers. Immersing herself in Allison’s life, she discovers a sleek socialite hiding dark secrets. What was Allison running from—and can Maggie uncover the truth in time to save her?

Told from the perspectives of a mother and daughter separated by distance but united by an unbreakable bond, Freefall is a riveting debut novel about two tenacious women overcoming unimaginable obstacles to protect themselves and those they love.

About the Author


Jessica Barry is a pseudonym for an American author who grew up in a small town in Massachusetts and was raised on a steady diet of library books and PBS.

She attended Boston University, where she majored in English and Art History, before moving to London in 2004 to pursue an MA from University College London.

She lives with her husband, Simon, and their two cats, Roger Livesey and BoJack Horseman.

 

Praise For…


“Jessica Barry’s Freefall is not only an enthralling, impossible-to-put down mystery that keeps the pages flying, but it is also a gorgeous, resonant tale of a mother’s unconditional love for her daughter. I could not recommend this more!”
— Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother

“Jessica Barry’s debut novel opens at full throttle and never lets up...Set aside a few hours before you open this book...once you start reading, you won’t want to stop.”


— International Bestselling Author, Karin Slaughter

  “A daring tightrope walk of a novel. Exhilarating, emotional -- a thriller charged with genuine depth and raw power.”
— AJ Finn author of the #1 NYT Bestselling The Woman in the Window

“Most debut thriller writers would be happy to have one amazing story to tell. Jessica Barry’s come up with two, and the way she weaves them together will have you on the edge of your seat. Freefall is an electric mix of action and emotional drama that never stops, never slows down.”
— Liv Constantine, national bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

‘A gripping page-turner. Freefall is exactly what a great thriller should be.’

— Renee Knight, International Bestselling author of Disclaimer

“A brilliant, addictive page-turner with sharply drawn, dueling mother-daughter narrators who you will root for and empathize with as they struggle to survive their harrowing present, come to terms with a troubled past and fight to find their way home.” 
— Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia and Where They Found Her

“Hold on to your hats. Freefall is sure to take one on the ride of a lifetime ... This is a gut-wrenching suspense thriller in which both the mother and daughter’s only thoughts are to endure, reunite, and make amends while taking the reader on a heartrending journey of trepidation and nail-biting apprehension.”
— New York Journal of Books

“This psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Clare Mackintosh.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Written in a fast-paced style, each chapter offers new twists as motives are brought to light and secrets that Allison struggled to hide are revealed. Barry’s debut novel will keep readers guessing to the end, and fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Scottoline will enjoy this thriller written with a focus on family relationships...this debut will be everywhere.”
— Booklist

“Pseudonymous author Barry spins a great tale using familiar tropes but adding a surprising amount of heart to the mystery showing the fierce bond between mother and daughter.”
— Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062874832
ISBN-10: 0062874837
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: January 8th, 2019
Pages: 368
Language: English