Athena's Summer Picks

Staff Pick Badge
If We Were Villains: A Novel By M. L. Rio Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250095299
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - April 17th, 2018

This mysterious dark academia follows seven students as they begin their senior year at Dellecher Classical Conservatory in their prestigious Shakespearean program. But the book begins ten years later, when Oliver is finally ready to tell the truth of what happened all those years ago. I loved getting to know this cast of characters and seeing how their group fell apart. IF WE WERE VILLIANS is perfect for fans of The Secret History!


The Cuban Heiress By Chanel Cleeton Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593440483
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - April 11th, 2023

Chanel Cleeton takes us back to 1934 on board the SS Morro Castle in her stunning new novel. This dual perspective book takes us above deck to the glitz and glamour of New York’s Elite as Catherine cons her way into an advantageous marriage as well as below deck where we meet Elena Palacio, a woman who is proclaimed dead and on a mission of her own. Throw in a jewel thief, attempted and successful murder, and a doomed voyage to get a truly unforgettable story!


Staff Pick Badge
Where the Wandering Ends: A Novel of Corfu By Yvette Manessis Corporon Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781400236800
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Muse - June 6th, 2023

A stunning tale of friends Katerina and Marco during and after the Greek Civil War, WHERE THE WANDERING ENDS takes you to the beautiful island of Corfu during its periods of tragic unrest. One of my favorite parts of this story is how seamlessly faith and superstition coexist within the characters and community. This book is perfect for historical fiction fans and anyone who wishes to know more about 20th century Greece.


Staff Pick Badge
The Charm Offensive: A Novel By Alison Cochrun Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982170714
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - September 7th, 2021

The Charm Offensive made me laugh out loud and it was impossible to put down. Set in a fictional version of The Bachelor, Dev and Charlie and subject to the theatrics both in front of the camera and behind the scenes. Dev is assigned to manage Charlie, Ever Afters “Prince” of the season, due to Charlies inability to function in front of a camera and Dev’s ability to make contestants relax. The romance that follows is hilarious and sweet while touching on important topics as well!


Love and Other Words By Christina Lauren Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501128011
Availability: Backordered - Usually Ships in 14-90 days
Published: Gallery Books - April 10th, 2018

A beautiful story about estranged childhood friends reconnecting, growing pains, and grief, LOVE AND OTHER WORDS balances the complexities of life perfectly. This story is told in alternating points in the timeline from when Macy is a pre-teen meeting Elliot for the first time along with their growing relationship and present day when Macy sees Elliot again for the first time in several years. This is the perfect book for anyone looking for a romance with a slightly melancholier tone!


Staff Pick Badge
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe By Benjamin Alire Sáenz Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781442408937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2014

A beautiful coming of age story that has prose that sounds like poetry, Aristotle and Dante is a book that you are sure to remember. Set in 1980s Texas, this book follows the mundane life of Ari as he tries to discover not only who he is but who he wants to be, and is sure to resonate with its readers.


Staff Pick Badge
The Fountains of Silence By Ruta Sepetys Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780142423639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 29th, 2020

A lot of historical fiction stories focuses on big events like war or disasters, few spend time talking about postwar recovery and consequences. FOUNTAINS OF SILENCE takes us to post civil war Madrid in 1957, following Danny as he visits Spain for the first time and learns that everything isn’t what it seems. An estimated 300,000 children went “missing” under Franco and Sepetys gives voice to this tragedy while highlighting different experiences during this time.


Staff Pick Badge
Dark Rise By C. S. Pacat Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062946157
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 6th, 2022

I wasn't sure what to expect from C.S Pacat’s first YA book, but I was blown away. This book is a great blend of traditional “chosen one” plot with lots of unique twists and turns. Will is an orphan in early 19th century London who gets caught up in an ancient battle that threatens the world. A great book for fantasy lovers looking for a new trilogy to start!