Athena's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
My Life Next Door Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780142426043
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - June 13th, 2013

MY LIFE NEXT DOOR is a cute YA contemporary following Sam as she learns there’s more to life than what her Mother has shown and told her. One night her next door neighbor Jase climbs into her window and Sam’s life changes for the better. I adore Jase’s family almost as much as Sam does and I enjoyed watching these characters grow into themselves. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson!


Staff Pick Badge
The Secret History (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781400031702
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - April 13th, 2004

Truly a classic dark academia novel, THE SECRET HISTORY follows a reclusive group of classics students at an elite New England University. Tartt does an amazing job at taking down the rabbit hole of insanity with these students as they logic their way through horrible choices. By the time Richard realizes what he’s gotten himself into, it’s too late to turn back.


Staff Pick Badge
City of Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594634741
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - April 7th, 2020

A fantastic story about finding yourself, CITY OF GIRLS takes us back to 1940s NYC and drops us in the glitz and glamor of the theater world. Vivan is now an old woman reflecting back on her life in a letter. She takes us through the good and the bad of the city at the time and shows us how she came to be the woman she is now. Perfect for fans of EVELYN HUGO!


Staff Pick Badge
Slow Days, Fast Company: The World, The Flesh, and L.A. Cover Image
By Eve Babitz, Matthew Specktor (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681370088
Availability: Backordered - Usually Ships in 14-90 days
Published: NYRB Classics - August 30th, 2016

Babitz writing is reminiscent of an old friend catching you up on their exciting life over a long meal. Each short story highlights a different location around L.A in the 70s and is full of artistic endeavor. The depictions of L.A describe the negative parts of the city and embrace them as charming quirks, exemplifying the love Babitz had for the city. Categorized as a “fictional memoir”, it’s hard to tell what’s real and fake!


Staff Pick Badge
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781416990666
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2011

I am a huge fan of road trip stories and this one has a special place in my heart. The author actually completed this cross country rip so the book is full of pictures and little extras about the characters journey. There are even several playlists throughout the book that are super enjoyable.  One of my favorite Morgan Matson books and a great pick for anyone looking for a YA contemporary!


Staff Pick Badge
Carry On (Simon Snow Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250135025
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - May 9th, 2017

CARRY ON is a fresh take on the chosen one trope with the familiar magical boarding school setting. This story starts off during Simon’s final year at the magical school of Watford. We follow Simon as he tries to save the magical world despite being a subpar magician and also prove that his roommate is an evil vampire (he swears there’s proof!). This book is perfect for anyone looking for a story “like Harry Potter”!


Staff Pick Badge
The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780375867828
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Schwartz & Wade - July 8th, 2014

I have always had a fascination with the Russian Imperial family, especially following Anastasia. This non-fiction book follows the last Imperial family leading up to the Russian Revolution. I even got to learn a lot about the other Imperial children (who I didn’t ever hear much about before this book). Even though this is history, it read just like fiction! This book is prefect for kids and adults, really anyone who is eager to learn.


Staff Pick Badge
Fruits Basket Collector's Edition, Vol. 1 Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780316360166
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Yen Press - June 28th, 2016

Out of all the manga I have read, FRUITS BASKET still remains my favorite. Tohru Honda finds herself living with the most popular boy in school, Yuki Sohma, after a series of unfortunate events leaves her homeless. Soon Tohru learns that the Sohma’s have a secret: They turn into the animals of the Chinese Zodiac when hugged by someone of the opposite sex! This series blends comedy, romance, drama, and magic in the best way!


Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, Book 1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545424936
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 30th, 2013

Maggie Stiefvater excels at writing relatable and three dimensional characters. While this book has a stunningly original plot that couldn’t be replicated, it’s the characters that truly make the story. Follow Blue Sargent as she befriends a group of private school boys on a mission to find a dead Welsh king buried in the Virginia Mountains. If that’s not strange enough, try throwing in psychics and unfortunate prophecies!


Staff Pick Badge
Beach Read Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 19th, 2020

This book was impossible for me to put down! The banter and energy between the main characters was wildly entertaining. What makes this book amazing is that it covers some pretty hard topics and challenges while still maintaining a fairly light atmosphere. The romance feels natural amongst the turmoil and the characters grow in more than just a superficial way. Despite the title BEACH READ is the perfect book to read year round!