Athena's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Fountains of Silence By Ruta Sepetys Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780142423639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 29th, 2020

A lot of historical fiction stories focuses on big events like war or disasters, few spend time talking about postwar recovery and consequences. FOUNTAINS OF SILENCE takes us to post civil war Madrid in 1957, following Danny as he visits Spain for the first time and learns that everything isn’t what it seems. An estimated 300,000 children went “missing” under Franco and Sepetys gives voice to this tragedy while highlighting different experiences during this time.


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea By TJ Klune Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

I have don’t have any other way to describe this book other than absolutely whimsical and incredibly delightful. Set in a world where magical beings exist, Linus must investigate an orphanage filled with magical kids and report if he believes the environment is safe. This book is perfect for anyone looking for a heartful story focusing on found family and new beginnings. These kids are sure to warm your heart!


Staff Pick Badge
Truly Devious: A Mystery By Maureen Johnson Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062338068
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - December 4th, 2018

Stevie Bell wants to be a detective when she grows up, and what better place to study than the elite Ellingham Academy? Not only is the education amazing, but it is home to one of America’s most infamous cold cases. Stevie is determined to solve this 1930’s case, but when weird things start happening around the academy she’s unsure if she opened something that was better left alone. A fantastic YA murder mystery!


Staff Pick Badge
The Night Circus By Erin Morgenstern Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780307744432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 3rd, 2012

THE NIGHT CIRCUS is an amazing blend of magic, love, and suspense. I have always been a sucker for circus set stories but Morgenstern takes it to the next level with this tale of two magicians battling with the backdrop of a mysterious circus. “The Circus of Dreams” appears with no warning and its strict black and white dress code makes it appear just as otherworldly as it truly is.


Staff Pick Badge
Salt to the Sea By Ruta Sepetys Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780142423622
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - August 1st, 2017

Expertly researched and beautifully written, SALT TO THE SEA tells us of a tragedy lost to time. Following four different narrators, readers get a wide scope of what was happening in Eastern Europe at the end of WWII and what drove people to board the doomed Wilhelm Gustloff. Sepetys never fails to find pockets of history that are rarely explored and deliver them to us in books that are impossible to put down.


Staff Pick Badge
Bravely By Maggie Stiefvater Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781368071345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney Press - May 3rd, 2022

A beautiful tale blending mythology, history, and a touch of Disney Magic, BRAVELY captures the spirit of Merida and takes us on a new adventure. Making a bet with the Gods to save her home and family, Merida journeys around Scotland to prove the humans are capable of change and that DunBroch is capable of it if given time. Stiefvater does a great job of fleshing out the beloved Disney characters and continuing Merida’s story!


Staff Pick Badge
My Life Next Door By Huntley Fitzpatrick Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780142426043
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - June 13th, 2013

MY LIFE NEXT DOOR is a cute YA contemporary following Sam as she learns there’s more to life than what her Mother has shown and told her. One night her next door neighbor Jase climbs into her window and Sam’s life changes for the better. I adore Jase’s family almost as much as Sam does and I enjoyed watching these characters grow into themselves. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson!


Staff Pick Badge
The Secret History (Vintage Contemporaries) By Donna Tartt Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781400031702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 13th, 2004

Truly a classic dark academia novel, THE SECRET HISTORY follows a reclusive group of classics students at an elite New England University. Tartt does an amazing job at taking down the rabbit hole of insanity with these students as they logic their way through horrible choices. By the time Richard realizes what he’s gotten himself into, it’s too late to turn back.


Staff Pick Badge
City of Girls: A Novel By Elizabeth Gilbert Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594634741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 7th, 2020

A fantastic story about finding yourself, CITY OF GIRLS takes us back to 1940s NYC and drops us in the glitz and glamor of the theater world. Vivan is now an old woman reflecting back on her life in a letter. She takes us through the good and the bad of the city at the time and shows us how she came to be the woman she is now. Perfect for fans of EVELYN HUGO!


Staff Pick Badge
Slow Days, Fast Company: The World, The Flesh, and L.A. By Eve Babitz, Matthew Specktor (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Eve Babitz, Matthew Specktor (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681370088
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: NYRB Classics - August 30th, 2016

Babitz writing is reminiscent of an old friend catching you up on their exciting life over a long meal. Each short story highlights a different location around L.A in the 70s and is full of artistic endeavor. The depictions of L.A describe the negative parts of the city and embrace them as charming quirks, exemplifying the love Babitz had for the city. Categorized as a “fictional memoir”, it’s hard to tell what’s real and fake!