Athena's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Check, Please! Book 1: # Hockey Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250177964
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - September 18th, 2018

Check, Please! Is the perfect blend of comedy, sports, and romance all set on a college campus. Samwell Men’s Hockey team is full of funny and colorful characters that make this story truly unique. I started reading this book while it was being posted online so it’s super exciting to finally have a physical copy. This book covers years one and two and includes Bitty’s Twitter as well!


Staff Pick Badge
Remembering Shanghai: A Memoir of Socialites, Scholars and Scoundrels Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781954854055
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Girl Friday Books - October 19th, 2021

This memoir is absolutely stunning. Not only does it teach you a ton about life in Shanghai in the early 20th century but it also teaches you some Chinese history and how western influences affected China. Written by a mother daughter duo, Claire and Isabel take us through 5 generations of their family’s history. There are so many compelling stories within each generation that it feels as if you’re reading fiction!


Staff Pick Badge
Vicious (Villains #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250183507
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - May 29th, 2018

This book is full of people with super powers, but no heroes. I love how the supernatural was so seamlessly interwoven with science and framed around an academic setting. The writing jumps back and forth between present day and the characters college days in the beginning which makes it nearly impossible to put the book down. I have been recommending this book left and right since I have read it!


Staff Pick Badge
Call Me Athena: Girl from Detroit Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524865450
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - August 17th, 2021

I never really cared for books written in verse but this story made me reconsider. All three narrators have such distinct voices and their struggles are so clearly mirrored in each other. Smith is able to paint such a clear picture using such few words, it is truly amazing. What really sold me on this book is that the story is based off the author’s grandmother and great-grandparents (pictures are included!).


Staff Pick Badge
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250028662
Availability: Not In Stock - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 4th, 2014

Many people know of F. Scott Fitzgerald, but not many people pay attention to his wife, Zelda. Deemed the first flapper, Zelda lived a fast paced and exciting life. This book covers a fictionalized version of Zelda's life, beginning with her meeting of F. Scott. Zelda will take you from 1920s NYC to Paris, from parties to cafes, and readers will get a better understanding of how close relality was mirrored in F. Scott's stories.


Staff Pick Badge
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781442408937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2014

A beautiful coming of age story that has prose that sound like poetry, Aristotle and Dante is a book that you are sure to remember. Set in 1980s Texas, this book follows the mundane life of Ari as he tries to discover not only who he is but who he wants to be, and is sure to resonate with its readers. Pick this book up in preparation for the sequel, coming out on October 12th!


Staff Pick Badge
Lovely War Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780147512970
Availability: Backordered - Usually Ships in 14-90 days
Published: Penguin Books - February 4th, 2020

Perfect for fans of THE BOOK THIEF and Percy Jackson, LOVELY WAR combines mythology and historical in such an unexpected and beautiful way. Read along as Aphrodite reflects back to World War I and tells us about the greatest love story she created. This tale will take you from music performances in America and out to the trenches. Best of all, the history is based in fact! Additional resources are included by the author at the end so you can see what inspire the story and character!