Staff Picks

We help you find the books you'll love!!

Welcome to the Staff Picks Page! Every two weeks we'll be sharing with you the books that we're really excited about! Each book can be found on our staff picks shelf in the store!

Check out our top picks from 2016!

Featuring Picks from:

PK, our fearless leader and owner, Mary, our sweetest, kindest and longest tenured employee, Sarah, our energetic assistant manager, Ellen, our new cafe manager, Kim, the world's fastest shelver, Abby, lover a humor with a darker twist, Jennifer, our children's book guru, Pam, our go-to women's fiction lover, Su, our lover of mysteries and all things out-of-the ordinary, Charlie, our newest employee, and don't forget our illustrious marketing director, Kit!

In-Between Days: A Memoir about Living with Cancer Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781487001087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: House of Anansi Press - March 14th, 2017

MARY'S PICK

Teva Harrison was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer at the age of 37. In this brilliant and inspiring graphic memoir, she documents through comic illustration and short personal essays what it means to live with the disease. Ultimately redemptive and uplifting, In-Between Days reminds each one of us how beautiful life is, and what a gift.


The Dinner Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780385346856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth Press - October 29th, 2013

PK'S PICK

It's a summer's evening in Amsterdam, and two couples meet at a fashionable restaurant for dinner. Between mouthfuls of food and over the scrapings of cutlery, the conversation remains a gentle hum of polite discourse. But behind the empty words, terrible things need to be said, and with every forced smile and every new course, the knives are being sharpened.
Each couple has a fifteen-year-old son. The two boys are united by their accountability for a single horrific act; an act that has triggered a police investigation and shattered the comfortable, insulated worlds of their families. As the dinner reaches its culinary climax, the conversation finally touches on their children. As civility and friendship disintegrate, each couple show just how far they are prepared to go to protect those they love.
Skewering everything from parenting values to pretentious menus to political convictions, this novel reveals the dark side of genteel society and asks what each of us would do in the face of unimaginable tragedy.


Freya Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250088178
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Imprint - March 14th, 2017

SARAH'S PICK

Freya is the myth. Freya is the legend. And she's about to make one hell of a comeback.

There's far more to Sara Vanadi than meets the eye. In her prime, she was Freya, the Norse goddess of love, beauty, war, and death - though that past hardly seems to matter now. For an ancient goddess in the 21st century, true believers - and the strength they bring - are painfully hard to find. But when a new, rising power threatens to remake the world by bending the divine to its will, Sara realizes her days of hiding have ended, and a chance to claw her way out of the history books has arrived. She'll just need new clothes and a manicure before she gets started.

Blending elements of fantasy and scifi in a modern-world setting, the first novel in this new young adult series by Matthew Laurence is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.


Lab Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101873724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 28th, 2017

ELLEN'S PICK

Geobiologist Hope Jahren has spent her life studying trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Lab Girl is her revelatory treatise on plant life--but it is also a celebration of the lifelong curiosity, humility, and passion that drive every scientist. In these pages, Hope takes us back to her Minnesota childhood, where she spent hours in unfettered play in her father's college laboratory. She tells us how she found a sanctuary in science, learning to perform lab work "with both the heart and the hands." She introduces us to Bill, her brilliant, eccentric lab manager. And she extends the mantle of scientist to each one of her readers, inviting us to join her in observing and protecting our environment. Warm, luminous, compulsively readable, Lab Girl vividly demonstrates the mountains that we can move when love and work come together.


Walk Two Moons Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780064405171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTrophy - December 27th, 2011

KIM'S PICK

In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

Thirteen-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle, proud of her country roots and the "Indian-ness in her blood," travels from Ohio to Idaho with her eccentric grandparents. Along the way, she tells them of the story of Phoebe Winterbottom, who received mysterious messages, who met a "potential lunatic," and whose mother disappeared.

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe's outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold--the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother.


Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250135995
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 17th, 2017

ABBY'S PICK

Fifty years ago Malcolm X told a white woman who asked what she could do for the cause, "Nothing." Dyson believes he was wrong. In Tears We Cannot Stop, he responds to that question. If we are to make real racial progress, we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed or discounted. As Dyson writes "At birth you are given a pair of binoculars that see black life from a distance, never with the texture of intimacy. Those binoculars are privilege; they are status, regardless of your class. In fact the greatest privilege that exists is for white folk to get stopped by a cop and not end up dead...The problem is you do not want to know anything different from what you think you know...You think we have been handed everything because we fought your selfish insistence that the world, all of it all its resources, all its riches, all its bounty, all its grace should be yours first and foremost, and if there's anything left, why then we can have some, but only if we ask politely and behave gratefully."

In the tradition of THE FIRE NEXT TIME (Baldwin), short, emotional, literary, powerful, this is the book that ALL Americans who care about the current and long burning crisis in race relations need to read.


You Are Here: An Owner's Manual for Dangerous Minds Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250119889
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - March 7th, 2017

JENNIFER'S PICK

National Book Critics Circle Award Winner

When Jenny Lawson is anxious, one of the things she does is to draw. Elaborate doodles, beautiful illustrations, often with captions that she posts online. At her signings, fans show up with printouts of these drawings for Jenny to autograph. And inevitably they ask her when will she publish a whole book of them. That moment has arrived.

You Are Here is something only Jenny could create. A combination of inspiration, therapy, coloring, humor, and advice, this book is filled with Jenny's amazingly intricate illustrations, all on perforated pages that can be easily torn out, hung up, and shared. Drawing on the tenets of art therapy which you can do while hiding in the pillow fort under your bed You Are Here is ready to be made entirely your own.

Some of the material is dark, some is light; some is silly and profane and irreverent. Gathered together, this is life, happening right now, all around, in its messy glory, as only Jenny Lawson could show us.


American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062431646
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - May 10th, 2016

PAM'S PICK

From 1999 to 2009, U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle recorded the most career sniper kills in United States military history. His fellow American warriors, whom he protected with deadly precision from rooftops and stealth positions during the Iraq War, called him "The Legend"; meanwhile, the enemy feared him so much they named him al-Shaitan ("the devil") and placed a bounty on his head. Kyle, who was tragically killed in 2013, writes honestly about the pain of war--including the deaths of two close SEAL teammates--and in moving first-person passages throughout, his wife, Taya, speaks openly about the strains of war on their family, as well as on Chris. Gripping and unforgettable, Kyle's masterful account of his extraordinary battlefield experiences ranks as one of the great war memoirs of all time.


Showing Off (Upside-Down Magic #3) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780545800532
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - December 27th, 2016

SU'S PICK

Some people in school are afraid of the kids in the Upside-Down Magic class. Others just call them flops. But Nory and her friends in Upside-down Magic won't let that stop them. Not with a school-wide talent show coming up
Except... Nory's afraid her fluxing magic will go wonky and upset her father. Pepper is worried that her abilities as a Fierce will make all the animals in the show run wild. Bax has some extreme new magic skills, but they can also be extremely embarrassing. And Elliott suspects there's a Sparkie spy who's looking to uncover UDM's talent-show secrets-and to use those secrets against them.
In order to take the stage and make some magic, the Upside-Down Magic kids are going to have to band together... and find the right combination of talents to steal the show


Fifth Business Cover Image
By Robertson Davies, Gail Godwin (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780141186153
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - January 2001

CHARLIE'S PICK

Ramsay is a man twice born, a man who has returned from the hell of the battle-grave at Passchendaele in World War I decorated with the Victoria Cross and destined to be caught in a no man's land where memory, history, and myth collide. As Ramsay tells his story, it begins to seem that from boyhood, he has exerted a perhaps mystical, perhaps pernicious, influence on those around him. His apparently innocent involvement in such innocuous events as the throwing of a snowball or the teaching of card tricks to a small boy in the end prove neither innocent nor innocuous.Fifth Business stands alone as a remarkable story told by a rational man who discovers that the marvelous is only another aspect of the real.