Book Clubs

We help you find the books you'll love!!

Are you looking for a group of like minded bibliophiles? Are you new to the area and want to find a group of people with similar interests? Stop by the Towne Book Center and Cafe and join one of our book clubs!

Members receive 15% off each month's selection listed below!

 

Towne Book Center & Cafe Book Club

This is the original book club, in existence practically since the day the store opened its doors 25 years ago! The TBC&C Book Club typically reads literary and contemporary fiction with a few forays into popular nonfiction and former bestsellers. Frequently the group reads books by local authors and host the authors as part of the discussion! The TBC&C Book Club is a very comfortable and encouraging group and they welcome any and all opinions on the books they read each month. Each meeting is typcially attended by 20 to 30 people of various ages.

Former selections include Life of Pi by Yann Martel; The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger; The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini; Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell

Meets on the 1st Wednesday of the month at 7PM

Next Book: My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry, by Fredrik Backman

 

Modern Readers Book Club

The Modern Readers are our newest group of bibliophiles meeting here at the Towne Book Center & Cafe! The Modern Readers enjoy reading books from every genre and often read books that discuss socially progressive and controversial topics - their favorite books are ones that might best be classified as "out there" by most other readers. If you like reading new and/or interesting books, this is the book club for you!

Former selections include Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel; Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi; The Vorrh by Brian Catling; Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown

Meets on the 2nd (or occasionally the 3rd) Sunday of the month at 10AM

Next Book: Moon Called, by Patricia Briggs

 

Classics Book Club

The Classics Book Club reads just what the name would suggest - the classics! Anything from Austen to Zola is included in the repertoire and if you miss your favorite literature class from high school or college and you're looking for a group of like-minded individuals, this is the group for you!

Meets on the 4th Tuesday of the month at 7PM

Next Book: Call of the Wild, White Fang & To Build a Fire, by Jack London

 

Literary Fiction Book Club

The Literary Fiction Book Club reads fiction that is often overlooked by the general public and does that does not often grace the lists of bestsellers. Each book is guaranteed to make you think, both about the context of the book, but also about how it relates to society as a whole.

Meets on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 7PM

Next Book: Sweetland, by Michael Crummey

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501115073
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press - April 5th, 2016

Towne Book Center & Cafe Book Club Next Meeting: Wednesday, May 3rd at 7PM

A charming, warmhearted novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller A Man Called Ove.
Elsa is seven years old and different. Her grandmother is seventy-seven years old and crazy--as in standing-on-the-balcony-firing-paintball-guns-at-strangers crazy. She is also Elsa's best, and only, friend. At night Elsa takes refuge in her grandmother's stories, in the Land-of-Almost-Awake and the Kingdom of Miamas, where everybody is different and nobody needs to be normal.
When Elsa's grandmother dies and leaves behind a series of letters apologizing to people she has wronged, Elsa's greatest adventure begins. Her grandmother's instructions lead her to an apartment building full of drunks, monsters, attack dogs, and old crones but also to the truth about fairy tales and kingdoms and a grandmother like no other.


Moon Called Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780441013814
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace Books - February 2006

Modern Readers Next Meeting: Sunday, May 14th at 10 AM

Mercy Thompson is a shapeshifter, and while she was raised by werewolves, she can never be one of them, especially after the pack ran her off for having a forbidden love affair. So she's turned her talent for fixing cars into a business and now runs a one-woman mechanic shop in the Tri-Cities area of Washington State.
But Mercy's two worlds are colliding. A half-starved teenage boy arrives at her shop looking for work, only to reveal that he's a newly changed werewolf--on the run and desperately trying to control his animal instincts. Mercy asks her neighbor Adam Hauptman, the Alpha of the local werewolf pack, for assistance.
But Mercy's act of kindness has unexpected consequences that leave her no choice but to seek help from those she once considered family--the werewolves who abandoned her...


The Call of the Wild, White Fang & to Build a Fire Cover Image
By Jack London, E. L. Doctorow (Introduction by)
$7.95
ISBN: 9780375752513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Modern Library - September 14th, 1998

Classics Book Club Next Meeting: Tuesday, April 25th at 7PM

To this day Jack London is the most widely read American writer in the world," E. L. Doctorow wrote in The New York Times Book Review. Generally considered to be London's greatest achievement, The Call of the Wild brought him international acclaim when it was published in 1903. His story of the dog Buck, who learns to survive in the bleak Yukon wilderness, is viewed by many as his symbolic autobiography. "No other popular writer of his time did any better writing than you will find in The Call of the Wild," said H. L. Mencken. "Here, indeed, are all the elements of sound fiction."
White Fang (1906), which London conceived as a "complete antithesis and companion piece to The Call of the Wild," is the tale of an abused wolf-dog tamed by exposure to civilization. Also included in this volume is "To Build a Fire," a marvelously desolate short story set in the Klondike, but containing all the elements of a classic Greek tragedy.
"The quintessential Jack London is in the on-rushing compulsive-ness of his northern stories," noted James Dickey. "Few men have more convincingly examined the connection between the creative powers of the individual writer and the unconscious drive to breed and to survive, found in the natural world. . . . London is in and committed to his creations to a degree very nearly unparalleled in the composition of fiction.

 


Sweetland Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781631491108
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - September 7th, 2015

Literary Fiction Book Club Next Meeting: Thursday, May 11th at 7PM

The scarcely populated town of Sweetland clings to the shore of a remote Canadian island. Its slow decline has finally reached a head, with the mainland government offering each islander a generous resettlement package the only stipulation being that everyone must leave. Fierce and enigmatic Moses Sweetland, whose ancestors founded the island, is determined to refuse. As one by one his neighbors relent, he recalls the town's rugged history and its eccentric cast of characters. For fans of The Shipping News, Michael Crummey's prose conjures up the mythical, sublime world of Sweetland's past amid a storm-battered landscape haunted by local lore. In a spare style that belies huge emotional depth and heart (Celeste Ng, author of Everything I Never Told You), Crummey masterfully weaves together the past and present, creating in Sweetland a spectacular portrait of one man's battle to survive as his world vanishes around him.